bread & butter pickles

 

Confession time: I don’t like cucumbers.

Okay, not a very thrilling confession, but I’m disappointed by my palate on this one. I *want* to want a zingy cucumber salad or enjoy a refreshing cucumber-based cocktail. But the only way I like cucumbers is pickled. And dill pickles are fine, sure, but I tend to crave spicy, zangy bread and butter pickles.

Thus, I could hardly contain my joy when Deb posted an easy refrigerator b&b pickles recipe. First, I love almost anything that comes out of the kitchen that is smitten. Secondly… really, I just pretty much love anything I’ve made from SK (with the exception of the raspberry gratin, but even that was delicious once chilled and scooped over oatmeal). Really, she doesn’t mess around.

I found the perfect little knobbly cukes at the end of July and made a batch right away, but waited a few weeks to post. I wanted to see how these little guys did over time, and, of course, they’ve only improved. Fridge pickles seems so… summery to me!

Bread & Butter Pickles

1 pound cucumbers, sliced 1/4-inch thick — “pickling” or kirby cucumbers work best here
1 medium onion, thinly sliced
1/4 cup Diamond Kosher salt [Updated: Why Diamond? Read this first.<– link to smittenkitchen.com] or ~1/8 c. Morton kosher salt
3/4 cups sugar (see note above)
1/2 cup distilled white vinegar
1/4 teaspoons ground turmeric
1 tablespoon mustard seeds
1 tablespoon coriander seeds (if ground, use 1 teaspoon)
1/4 teaspoon celery seed

In a medium bowl, combine the cucumbers, onion and salt. Mix well. Cover the mixture with ice. Let stand at room temperature for at least two hours. In a pot, bring sugar, vinegar and spices to a boil.

Drain cucumbers and onions. Add to vinegar mixture and bring almost back to a boil. Remove from heat and cool. You can store the pickles in an airtight container for up to three weeks in the fridge. They will begin tasting pickled in just a couple hours.

Note: These are wonderful as-is, but next time I’m going to cut down on the onion and add a chile or two to add a little kick. Try it!

1 Comment

Filed under Condiments, etc., Summer, Vegetables

One response to “bread & butter pickles

  1. These are my favorite bread and butter pickles, very similar to yours. I just made a batch! They are what grandma would have made: http://michaelbeyer.wordpress.com/2010/08/17/your-classic-bread-and-butter-pickles-2/

Leave a Reply

