CE: Carrot-walnut breakfast cake

I am practicing to be a Grandma. Which is to say, I knit; I talk to my cat; and I always bake something when people are coming over to my house, no matter the occasion.  (Because grandma-hood has very little to do with actually having children, right?) I had a friend call and ask to crash on our couch for the night. Sure, absolutely- I’ve got just the enough time to whip up a quick bread and vacuum!

I had carrots; I had walnuts. I quickly decided that a breakfast carrot cake was in order, with a streusely top and loaded with toasted walnuts. I found a recipe that looked divine, but required overripe bananas… and because bananas are evil, they generally aren’t in my house. I found multiple recipes that called for an entire cup of sugar… and only 1 cup of grated carrot. Sorry, that’s not how *my* carrot cake is gonna roll.  In the end, I relied on good ‘ol Betty Crocker, but cleaned her up. 

Finally, a word on breakfast cake- how is this anything but a GREAT idea?? It’s a healthy quick bread that made a modest amount of batter, perfect for an old milk-glass cake dish. Perfection. Do not doubt it.

 

Carrot-Walnut Breakfast Cake

3/4 c. sucanat or natural brown sugar
2 eggs
1 t. vanilla
2 T. oil
¼ c. unsweetened applesauce
1 ½ c. whole-wheat pastry flour
2 t. baking powder
1 t. salt
1 t. cinnamon
1 t. pumpkin pie spice
2 c. shredded carrots
1/2 c. toasted walnuts

Topping:
1/2 c. sucanat or brown sugar
1/3 c. toasted walnuts
1/2 t. cinnamon

Preheat oven to 350. Grease or line a cake pan or loaf pans.  Whisk eggs and sucanat together until bubbly and yellow, about 2 minutes.  Whisk in vanilla, oil, and applesauce.

Sift together flour, powder, salt, and spices. Mix into the wet ingredients with a spoon or spatula, just until mixed. Fold in carrots and walnuts. Let rest a few minutes.

Mix together the topping ingredients in a small bowl. Pour batter into prepared pan, and sprinkle with topping.  Bake for 30-35 minutes for cake pan, or 50-60 minutes for loaf pan. Check with tester/toothpick to make sure middle is baked through.

Leave a comment

Filed under Breads, Breakfast, Clean Eating, Desserts

Leave a Reply

