Almond butter vinaigrette

I’ve got all this great lettuce growing in my yard!!!

(Well, okay, it’s mostly spinach.)

I’m not a big “dressing” person. I despise ranch on salads. I only eat Thousand Island with corned beef, Swiss, and sauerkraut. The only dressings I’ve ever actually enjoyed salads are 1) the red-orange sweet-and-tangy Western or French dressing, and 2) vinaigrettes.  (Usually I bypass both of those options and top my salad with cottage cheese instead, but I was out and too lazy to go to the store for one thing.)

I don’t know if this is a true vinaigrette, but it’s got a fat and a little bit of oil, whisked together with vinegar, so I think it counts.

Plus this is a lot like Applebee’s dressing for their Oriental Chicken Salad; however, their’s uses mayonnaise. ICK. This recipe is so close as a subsitute, plus SO much healthier. I love it on greens topped with sliced almonds, shredded carrots, and crispy Chinese noodles, or just tossed with broccoli, celery, carrot, and onion as a crunchy side.

Almond butter vinaigrette

4 T. almond butter
2 t. honey
generous dash of salt and fresh ground black pepper
2 T. vinegar (I use white wine vinegar, but I’m sure cider or white vinegar would be good)
1 T. lemon juice
1-2 teaspons olive oil
cold water (as needed)

Blend together the almond butter, honey, and S&P in a food processor or with a whisk. (I make my own almond butter by processing 1/2 c. almonds for 5-10 minutes with 2-3 small drizzles of oil, just to get it creamy.) Add the vinegar slowly while processing/whisking. Depending on your preference of thickness and taste, a few drizzles of olive oil and/or water can be added as preferred. I add about 1/2 t. oil and 2-3 teaspoons water to mine, as I like it thinner.

The key to making condiments (imo) is to KEEP TASTING! If you wait until the table to try what you’re making, there’s a good chance it might suck. Never be afraid to add a little bit more of this or that to get the taste exactly where you want it. :)

Leave a comment

Filed under 30 min. or less, Condiments, etc., Spring

Leave a Reply

