House & 101 things update #2

#38. Make tiramisu from scratch
I made tiramisu on, of all days, my birthday. This is my absolute favorite dessert in the whole world and N & I devoured it over the weekend. I even used a recipe from my Julia Child cookbook to make the ladyfingers from scratch! :) It was fantastic, and I can’t wait for another excuse to make this. It may become an annual bday tradition.

#60. Buy used furniture for the house
We have yet to buy a single piece of furniture or decor that wasn’t used for our new house. Aside from things like hinges, lightbulbs, cleaners, etc. of course. First ‘big’ purchase was our kitchen table and chairs last week.

#61. Shop at Just Local Foods
I had been there twice previously for bulk grains and beans and a few other items, but this past week I bought pasture-raised locally-grown beef. Beef in the grocery store has been incredibly expensive, and I noticed that the beef-to-fat ratios are becoming more and more lax. After seeing Food, Inc. and King Corn, I’ve decided that we really need to avoid feedlot beef as much as possible. We won’t be buying pasture-raised exclusively, as it is more expensive, but between buying more local and eating less red meat, it is a step in the right direction.

I had to show off take pictures of our kitchen with our new appliances. I’m planning to do “room by room” updates as we get settled.

View of the kitchen from the garage door. Our new stainless steel gas stove! Also love the Ikea pan rack and lid holder on the left.

View from standing in front of the stove. Eventually we want to get a stainless steel fridge with bottom freezer and french doors. *le sigh* So expensive! The doorway leads to N’s office and the bathroom to the left, and to a hallway and the upstairs to the right.

New stainless steel dishwasher next to the sink and the door to the garage and downstairs. I love the extra space in the upper cabinets, although I have to use a step-stool to get up there!

I love our kitchen window. It makes the small space feel brighter and bigger. Our kitchen is one of my favorite rooms in our new house!

1 Comment

Filed under 101 in 1001, house

One response to “House & 101 things update #2

  1. so jealous of your lovely kitchen! i, too, love the ikea pan rack thingy – amazing!

Leave a Reply

