Cute sugar cookies

After much researching and debate amongst online food bloggers about THE perfect sugar cookie recipe, I’ve developed the perfect one for me. Behold:

6 T. butter, room temperature
2 T. butter-flavored Crisco
2/3 c. sugar
1/3 c. powdered sugar
1 egg
1 1/2 t. vanilla
1/2 t. almond extract
dash of salt
2 tsp baking soda
2-3/4 to 3 c. white all-purpose flour

Preheat your oven to 350 F. Cream together butter and shortening in electric mixer with paddle attachment. Mix in sugar and cream for 1-2 minutes. Add the egg, vanilla, salt, and almond, and mix to combine well.  Sprinkle  in 1 tsp of baking soda and one cup of flour; mix to combine. Repeat. With your mixer on a low speed, add in the remaining 3/4 or 1 cup of flour, being sure the bowl is very well scraped and you haven’t got egg, etc. on the bottom.

Transfer dough to a medium-sized bowl; cover with plastic wrap and place in the fridge for 20 minutes. Keep unused dough in the fridge while you’re rolling out cookies, and put the scrapes back in the bowl to chill before reusing. I roll out my dough to 1/4 to 1/3 inch, and I bake on professional half-sheets (no special brand needed) with parchment underneath, but before throwing in the oven, I put the entire sheet in the freezer for about 5 minutes. This can help the cookies keep their shape while they’re baking.

When the cookies are completely cool, I like to decorate with royal icing. I use the Joy of Baking Royal Icing with egg whites recipe. Mmmm. I will post some pictures of the cookies I just made for my hubby!

Source of inspiration for the recipe and spiderweb designs: bakeat350.blogspot.com

Leave a comment

Filed under Cookies

Leave a Reply

