CE Staple: applesauce

I love this applesauce. I never really loved applesauce as a kid or pseudo-adult, even the natural unsweetened stuff in the big glass jars.  But my signature apple pie recipe calls for applesauce, and Golden Delicious were on sale at the time, so about a month ago I made my first batch of home-made applesauce….

applesauce

…and now I’m hooked. This stuff is fantastic. I eat it literally every day. It’s perfect for a clean-eating breakfast or snack in combination with sugar-free probiotic yogurt or 1% cottage cheese, or even a few teaspoons of natural peanut butter (straight from the jar, of course). Ooh, or my homemade CE granola…. yum. I may need a pre-bed snack.

apples

Homemade Applesauce
Adapted from Elise’s Applesauce, but made cleaner :)

6-8 medium apples, cored and diced (not peeled)
1 c. water
3-4 T. lemon juice (about 1/2 large lemon)
1/4 c. honey
1 T. blackstrap molasses (if desired)
1/2 tsp (approx) salt
cinnamon to taste (I like a lot, about 1.5 T.)

Place all ingredients in a heavy pot over medium-high heat. Bring water to a boil, and lower heat to a slow simmer. Cover and allow to cook 30-40 minutes, stirring occassionally.
Using a potato masher, pastry mixer, or fork, mash the apples to the desired consistency. Allow to cool; refrigerate and enjoy.

applesauce2

*Note: The outer peel of the apple is the most nutrient-dense part of the fruit.  Peeling the apples will result in a smoother applesauce, but you’ll be losing the nutritional value while retaining all of the calories and sugars. If you peel the apples, they need not be diced; I dice my unpeeled apples to reduce the size of the “peel chunks” in the finished applesauce.

Leave a comment

Filed under Clean Eating, Fall, Side dishes, Summer

Leave a Reply

